How Do you Protect Yourself from Crypto Scammers?

I have recently almost been scammed multiple times from Crypto scammers. I used to work in the cybersecurity industry and I am always on high alert but they have gotten so good recently to the point that I almost got fooled, not once, twice, but three times.

So thought to open this discussion to share your stories if you have been scammed or almost scammed and how?

How did you find out they were a scammer?

Look below for video tutorials on how not to get scammed and others sharing stories and tips :slight_smile:

What are some steps you follow to make sure you are not being scammed by crypto scammers out there?

screenshot-www.google.com-2021.07.21-10_13_46

8 Likes

Thankfully so far nothing like this has happened to me!
But I would recommend you to watch this video, I think this might be helpful! Highly recommend: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WPiIdMcqT10&t=165s

6 Likes

Yes, this is helpful. @Norman did a great job with the tutorial.
2 Likes

I almost got scammed once when a Telegram user was personating a YouTube Influencer. Everything looked legit. They were interested to talk about Intercoin in exchange of BTC. The profile and name was the same as the YouTube Influencer X and we were ready to make an agreement where it hit me.

I couln’t do business through a Telegram conversation. I asked to have a video call and the Scammer was hesitant.
i asked to send me the package details via emails via email and he was debating he didn’t need to. Red flags…red flags…

Finally, he sent me the package details via email and I right away went to my detective mode and found out the email was almost the same but not quite of the actual YouTuber.

So I emailed the YouTuber to let them know someone was impersonating him.

I feel bad for these influencers being a main target for scammers.

1 Like